RangerMSP Business Automation for successful ITs

January 2nd, 2015, 03:21 PM
Mike C

I could use some help in implementing a simple search page to search through the tickets and display the ticket and any associated history notes.

I have an API connection setup and am able to return data, however I am stuck on adding the history notes to the search as well. I am a novice with VB.net but have been tasked with this.

Again thanks in advance for any help.

My search is
accountSearch.AddCriteria(CommitCRM.Ticket.Fields. Description, CommitCRM.OperatorEnum.opLike, "%" & Ctxt.Value & "%")

I am assuming that I would want to create a custom sql script to be able to search in the account, ticket, and historynote tables at the same time and return, however I am not seeing a way to do this in the API documentation.

January 5th, 2015, 06:10 AM
Support Team

Thanks for asking. To achieve this you would need to separately query the different areas (e.g. Tickets, Accounts, etc.) and then merge the results and display them as needed.

January 5th, 2015, 08:49 AM
Mike C

I assume you are talking about merging the list collections? I will have to look into that.

Thanks

January 5th, 2015, 08:57 AM
Support Team

Yes, exactly.

January 5th, 2015, 09:35 AM
AN-Tech

We really need a way to search through all fields in Commit directly. It's too complicated to find what we are looking for.

January 5th, 2015, 10:19 AM
Mike C

How would I go about combining via ticket number? Again I would like to show any entry with search value. If it is a history note I still want to supply the ticket number. Sorry if this is basic I am very rusty in my programming.

January 5th, 2015, 10:25 AM
Support Team

When querying History you can receive the RECID value of the linked Ticket. You then use this internal unique key for the ticket to query the Tickets table and get the value of the Ticket Number, or any other field that you may want to display with the results.

January 5th, 2015, 10:36 AM