PDA

View Full Version : Formatting History Notes

seth.lester
August 10th, 2009, 02:50 PM
Is it possible to choose what information gets placed in a history note description field when a task is completed?

I'm wanting to create a report from the history notes generated when an activity templated is completely followed. But the test in the notes duplicates information on that report (customer, account etc.) and makes the report run over multuple pages. I'm just wanting to list the task titiles associated with the ticket...

I'm fairly new to commit, so I apologise if the answer is obvious...

Thanks

Seth

Support Team
August 10th, 2009, 03:16 PM
Hi Seth,

Thank you for your question. Basically, when completing a task or an appointment, a history note is created, and the task/appointment description is automatically copied into the history note description. Since the description is taken as a whole, there is no way to control which part of it will be included in the note.

What you can do is avoid including the account description automatically in the tasks and appointments which are created from the activity template. You can determine this in the activity template itself by un-checking "Add Account/Contact info" (click here for more details about the task description - this works the same way for appointments as well). This way the description will not include this information in the first place.

I hope this helps.

Ethan

seth.lester
August 10th, 2009, 07:44 PM
I'm talking about getting rid of this stuff...

Task
Date: 11/08/2009
Time 09:00
Account:
Description:

All the add detail boxes are already unticked..

Support Team
August 11th, 2009, 06:26 AM
I see what you mean now... The history note which is created for the task keeps the original task details in the note for future tracking, and there is no easy way to remove this. The only thing I can think of is to edit the history note before saving it, so it will take less space in your reports later on.

Ethan